Home > Uncategorized > First Quilt…

First Quilt…

This is the first quilt I ever made, when Charlie was about 2 and just moving into a ‘big’ bed – well, it was still only a junior bed, but big for her! I couldn’t find much in that size that I realy liked – and anything I did find was a bit too expensive, so I decided to make a quilt for her myself  

Her room was a willow green colour, so I decided to mix it with a lilac / lavender, as I’d found some lovely Kaffe Fasset fabric – can’t remember if it’s roman glass, or pebbles, but I love the pattern. The quilt isn’t too complicated but then I didn’t have a sewing machine at the time, so I didn’t want to make the pieces too small! I think it took about 6 weeks to make – a simple design, but I still love it.

I quilted straight lines across the body of the quilt, using masking tape as a guide (think I must have read about that somewhere) and then a kind of a zig zag in the border. It was a lot of fun to do, but it took a while – thank goodness I’ve now got a sewing machine :o)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

