Home > Uncategorized > Bags, bags, bagsy that …

Bags, bags, bagsy that …

I’ve been wanting to make a bag – a handbag, rather than a shoebag or tote bag – for a little while and saw some lovely fabric a week or so ago, so I was itching to get sewing when it came in the post yesterday ! First I had to have a sort out in my fabric stash (of course) to make room for the new arrivals – so that was a good excuse to get everything out and drool over it again (and again and again – you get the picture!)  

For the bag, I’d decided on this lovely Khristian Howell print from her ‘High Society’ collection (posh petals in lilac) and chose a co-ordinating grey / white spot print for the other half – the pattern I was originally going to use was this one from ‘the DIY dish’ – but by the time I’d sorted through my fabrics I decided to use another print altogether as it went so well with the spots! Because I only had a fat quarter of that one though, I had to search for another bag pattern using less fabric – thank goodness for the internet, however did we manage to sew anything without it?

So, here’s how the bag ended up:

The fabric I used for the bottom part of the bag is an Amy Butler print – I think it’s called Lotus Pond – I really love it, but it didn’t go well with almost all of the rest of my collection – I think it goes perfectly with the spots though – so much so, that I decided to use the spots at the top of the bag as well as the lining.

The pattern is called ‘buttercup bag’ by Rae Hoekstra and you’ll find it on her blog “Made by Rae” . The only alteration I made was to move the rectangle with the buttons from the front of the bag – where it was just decorative – and use it as a flap to close the bag with. Unfortunately I don’t have a magnetic clasp to attach under the flap (in too much of a rush to get on and sew!!) so I’m going to have to work how to keep it closed (don’t think a safety pin will do it justice really, will it?) but I’m really pleased with how it turned out and the pattern was really easy to follow. I hope the person who finds it in their Christmas stocking likes it too!  

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

