Home > Uncategorized > WIP (aka Work in Progress) …

WIP (aka Work in Progress) …

It’s been a while since I last posted here but I do have some work on the go at the moment – I finally started Charlie’s new quilt, a re-make of the bunnies quilt, but bigger and using the lovely tea-time fabric that I won from the lovely Fiona over at The Sewing Directory!

I’ve also been asked to make a quilt for a new baby who is being christened very soon. This also uses some of the fabrics from ‘pink bunnies’ with some new additions – I hope that baby Casey likes it!

 

Some of the colours have come out a bit strangely – maybe that’s just due to the light at this time of the year, but some of the darker pinks are looking redder than they do in real life.

I’m really happy with the patchwork border – a tip I learned from the jelly roll book I’m reading at the moment – sew strips of fabric together horizontally, cut the pieced strips vertically and then sew the vertical strips back together again so that you have a string of squares (or rectangles or whatever you like) – so quick and easy.

 

I’ve been thinking about quilting patterns and as there is so much white space here I really like the idea of an all-over swirl, that will give it a nice crinkly feel – the same as I did on Aiden’s Arsenal quilt, but not on the hearts themselves – think I will quilt round these so that they stand out more and can be seen on the back. Just need to decide now what to use as the top thread – I do have a nice lilac quilting cotton thread, but  maybe that will be too much on all that white? I also have an invisible thread, which I could use with white in the bobbin. Do I want to see the thread on the top or not? A task for tomorrow, I think, trying out some sample squares 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

