Home > Uncategorized > Christening Quilt finished

Christening Quilt finished

Yay, I finished the quilt in time for the christening (which is today!) – hurrah!!

I really enjoyed making this – it does make a difference, I think, making a quilt for someone specific rather than just because I want to experiment with a few fabrics (although that can be good too). Because I didn’t have too much time to make it (just over a week) we didn’t go for a complicated design – it’s 12 squares overall, 6 with an appliqued heart and some stitching around them, and 6 pieced squares, with half square triangles. The top went together in a few days and then I had to think about how to quilt it.

Since the machine quilting workshop I went to last November, I’ve been really keen to have a go at some more – if you see me doodling squirls and leaves on paper, it’s probably because I’m thinking about quilting designs :). There are so many good things about machine quilting – your quilt looks like a quilt really quickly, for a start – but I’ve learned that it’s best not to have too many starts and stops, so that you don’t have loads of ends to tie in.

For this quilt, I tried a flower design, that I’ve seen on some other quilts and I was really pleased with the results – I had to stop a few times when I backed myself into a corner and couldn’t figure how to move the needle across the quilt without drawing a straight line, but I was really chuffed that it does look like a flower (well, to me anyway!) and there were no pulls or puckers on the back – woo hoo!! I used a heavyweight machine needle, one of the ‘good’ quality ones that were recommended by Dawn Cameron-Dick (who taught the machine quilting workshop) and I have to say it went through the quilt like butter – beautiful! I’m still tensing up when I quilt, though – I did try having a glass of wine while quilting (also recommended, to loosen your shoulders – apparently) but I was a bit nervous about drinking too much and knocking red wine all over the pristine white pieces – talk about nervous breakdown! So, I’ll keep practising – hopefully if I keep telling myself to relax it’ll happen eventually – like driving a car – maybe 🙂   

  

Some of my pictures of the quilt aren’t great, unfortunately – I took this one on the upstairs landing, so that I could hang it over the stair-rail, but there isn’t an awful lot of natural light up there, so apologies for the orangey tones – I’m pleased that you can see the effect of the quilting, though – this was after I washed it, so that helped with the nice crinkly texture too.   

So – off to make some more progress with my other WIP – Charlie’s bunny quilt – maybe it will be done by the time the Easter bunny arrives!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Emma
    January 30, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    We just love love love this quilt that you made for Casey she loves it and does does Addison her older sister. I have rec you to friends and family. Do you have a FaceBook fan page??

    • suze28
      February 1, 2011 at 9:08 am

      Hi Emma, so glad you like it – I had a lot of fun making it and was really pleased at how it turned out. Hope it keeps Casey warm and snuggly for many years to come! I don’t have a facebook site for the business yet – just my own page, but I would like to have one, so if you check back here again soon, there should be a link soon. In the meantime, thanks for the recommendation, I appreciate it. Hope you all had a lovely day last Sunday 🙂

  2. Joeley Howard
    July 29, 2012 at 2:30 am

    Hi I really love the red and blue Christening Quilt made in Jan 2011. Where did you find this pattern?

    • suze28
      July 29, 2012 at 9:05 am

      Hi Joeley – thanks for your comment on the pattern – it’s one I made up! If you’re interested, I can pull out my working diagrams and write it up for you??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

