Home > Uncategorized > This little dolly went to …

This little dolly went to …

 

a christening ! Yesterday was baby Florie’s big day, but because she already has a quilt I had a bit of a dilemma last week thinking about presents. I love the cuddly ‘Jellycat’ toys, but I really wanted to give her something handmade if I could, but, as I’m not big on clothes making and she’s not really in need of a tote bag just yet, I got to thinking about dollies :). Katy at ‘I’m a ginger monkey’ makes some lovely ones in a variety of shapes so I thought I’d try one out myself. Although I couldn’t see a pattern anywhere, the shape looked quite straightfoward, so I drew it out on paper and then cut them out of some lovely Sugar Pop fabric that was left over from the quilt below. Charlie and I spent a fun few hours on Saturday afternoon stuffing dolly’s legs and body (love that print on the legs – looks a bit like tights, doesn’t it?!)

I picked up some lovely brads and buttons from another little shop that I love ( go check out Paper and String if you haven’t already – she makes some ace stuff with felt and ribbons and stuff!) which would have been great as eyes and cheeks (embroidery skills a bit limited, I have to admit) but for a little baby like Florie, thread only seemed to be the best bet. Charlie loved playing with dolly (sorry Florie) before she was wrapped up, so now I have something else I need to make for her besides the bunny quilt, which is still ticking along … slowly! I think we’re about 8 blocks in, now – hurrah 🙂

I’ve also done some more criss-cross blocks using the Sugar Pop fabric I bought – it’s almost ready to go together now. I need to cut some half-square triangles to go at the end of each row, and decide on a border, but here it is so far:

 

I was a bit worried it was looking too orangey earlier, but there’s definitely quite a bit of pink in there now! I think I like it – the quilting will make a big difference to it too, especially on the solids, so I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out. I think a creamy white border will set the colours off but I need to check that I have enough to do the back too – I’ve been very naughty and bought some charm packs this weekend (including central park, Kate Spain’s new range) – I think I resisted that for about a week, which isn’t bad going, but I don’t think the credit card can take too much more fabric shopping for a few weeks!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

