Home > Uncategorized > Sewing for Pleasure :)

Sewing for Pleasure :)

I had a great time a couple of weekends ago – not only was I able to catch up with some of the Northern contingent of my family, I also had the luxury of a full day at the NEC’s Sewing for Pleasure show, whilst Mr P&P took the kiddywinks to Warwick Castle. I have to thank my mum for suggesting it, as a bit of a birthday treat (yes, 21 again!) – this isn’t a show I’ve been to before, but it was fab! So much to see and admire – and buy!

I spent most of my time in the Fashion, Embroidery and Stitch section – here there were textile artists such as Wendy Dolan  and Sue Munday, both of whom live quite close to me down here in Sussex. In fact, I have been hoping to do a workshop with Sue for some time, but there haven’t been enough people both times to get it organised, which is a shame – maybe one day it will allwork out! I attended a short talk that Wendy gave on her work, where she explained that she builds up a base piece of fabric in simple, natural tones, applying torn material, hessian, agricultural fleece, nappy liners, fabrics that can be heat treated – and so on and so on – to create texture and suggest shapes. When she is happy with this, she applies paint and then finishes off by using free machine embroidery to add detail. I really enjoyed listening to the creative process she described, and was interested to see the latest pieces of work she is doing, incorporating a map of Hove, Brighton and the South Downs. Her work is a million miles away from mine at the moment – I wonder if I can ever dare to be that experimental!

 There was also a display from the Contemporary Quilt guild (part of the quilter’s guild of the british isles) – another stand I had listed as one to visit and I had an interesting chat with one of the ladies there. All of the work on display was lovely, and so creative – and it struck me that, actually there isn’t an awful lot of difference between the work that these quilters do, and the work of the textile artists mentioned above.

At the CQ stand there were rows and rows of little quilts on the stand, with each quilter showing a trio of hangings on a particular theme, of interest to the quilter – think they called them ‘journal’ quilts. One lady for example was interested in peas (yes, peas, those little green things!) and so her work showed peas and pea pods in various shapes, colours and forms! I’m still getting to grips with many of the traditional patchwork designs and although I have designed quilts of my own (such as the bunnies quilt) they all tend to be based on a ‘block’ which is repeated. It’s interesting to see quilts which break away from that block pattern and are much more freefrom – the possibilities really are endless!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

