Home > Uncategorized > Gone quiet …

Gone quiet …

I’ve been a bad blogger lately and haven’t been updating this page as much as I’d like – I have been busy though!! If you follow my facebook page at all, you’ll know that in the last few weeks I made a single bed quilt for a big girl’s 2nd birthday, some baby bunting (aaahhh!) and a cot bumper to match the christening quilt I finished in January and a shoebag for the same big girl starting nursery. Thank you Emma, hope Addison is settling in to nursery ok :o)

This week I finished another shoebag

and got a lovely parcel in the post with some material for a bag for me – yay!! This is a heavier weight fabric – I think they call it ‘home dec’ which is meant for bags and cushions and the like, it’s got a canvas-type feel to it. The design is ‘leaflet’ by Jessica Jones, an American graphic designer. I’ve been following Jessica’s blog for a while (how about orange) and she posts some great ideas for things to make (origami paper bunnies anyone?) and links to free stuff – like wedding invites / fonts / patterns. I love her fabric designs but haven’t found any of her fabric over here – and it doesn’t seem to be in too many shops over ‘there’ either! Anyway, I came across some on Etsy and snapped it up, so here it is in all its’ loveliness ….

I’ve also finally finished piecing the sugar pop quilt and this is basted and ready to quilt. I tried pinning it to start with but it was a bit of a disaster – I know lots of people tape the layers to a wooden floor to keep them straight and taut (and I have tried that too, with some success) but the only space I have big enough to do that is by the front door, which means a) clearing the kids clutter (scooters, bikes, footballs, discarded items of clothing, bags, coats etc etc) then b) hoovering or sweeping up all the mud, dust and assorted rubbish and c) washing the floor to get rid of anything nasty! By the time I’ve done all that, I’m too exhausted to tape and pin – plus it means a lot of yelling at the kids to ‘watch out’ when they come in and out the door 40 times an hour – relaxing? I think not!!!!  I have tried pinning smaller quilts to the dining table so I tried it with this one, but that was a blob as well – plus I ran out of pins 😦 You know what it’s like when you just want to get something finished? I’ve kind of reached the aaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrgh! stage with this – I love it, don’t get me wrong, but I want it done, done, done! 

So, I was reading Katy’s blog (I’m a ginger monkey) about a week ago and she posted about this adhesive spray – I’ve thought about this before, but heard it can gum up your machine needles and stuff, so never really felt like trying it, but the quilt must be finished and Katy was very complimentary, so before I knew it I was on ebay and paypal and ta-da – the spray arrived a couple of days later – hurrah! Now the quilt is basted and ready to go – and hey, it really does work!

 I love it, I really do – now, all I need is to finish that ironing, get the kids back to school and hopefully the time to quilt it will magically present itself and it will be done :o)

Next project – what to do with my little pile of charm squares from Amy Butler’s Soul Blossoms range – I’m thinking Islamic Tiles, like in the Alhambra in Seville –

I quite like all those squares on point ………… what’s that? a bit like the sugar pop quilt? Hmmmmm……….

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

