Home > Uncategorized > Some endings, some beginnings and a middle

Some endings, some beginnings and a middle

We got back from a week’s holiday on the Isle of Wight on Saturday – a whole week without my trusty sewing machine, which felt a little strange! I took some crochet with me to keep me busy (a lovely Afghan blanket using a pattern by Alicia Paulson), but it was nice to pick up the threads of my quilts again 🙂

Since my last post, I’ve finished the single bed quilt which used the Delilah fabrics – I managed to post some pictures to my Flickr gallery before we went away on holiday, so some of you may have seen this already. I really, really loved this quilt, even though I’m not normally a big fan of pink (although having said that, the Sugar Pop quilt was mostly pink too – maybe I’m denying that pink side of me too much at the moment!!) – anyway, it turned out very girly and looking almost vintage, thanks to a squiggly quilting pattern and a run through the washing machine (great for producing crinkly quilts!)

The quilt uses 35 blocks, which are 10 inches square. The block is almost like log-cabin as it builds up around a central square.  The white ‘centre’ is framed twice, using two narrow sides and two wide sides – these narrow / wide sides are then alternated with the second print. I’m not sure I’m doing a great job of describing it here,so maybe this close up of the block will help!

I love how well the block shows off the prints and have alternated them so that some have a pink inner and some have a blue inner and these are alternated across the quilt. I think it helps that there are an odd number of blocks in the rows – it feels balanced, as each row begins and ends with the same colour.  The pattern was from an American magazine, and is all in inches which was a bit of a challenge as my ruler is metric! I’m just about to start a couple of baby quilts and I’m planning on using the same pattern but I’ve changed the size of the blocks a bit so that I can use my ruler without a calculator, pen, pencil and emergency chocolate (in case of stress) by my side ! They’ll have 4 rows of 3 blocks – it’ll be interesting to see how the adjusted, slightly larger, blocks look together.

I used the hearts and loops quilting pattern (thanks Tracey!) and was really pleased at how it turned out – I’ll definitely use that one again!

Some other finished items:  

The cushions to match the quilt.

Matching quilt and blanket for dolly / bunny / teddy etc

So, as well as some endings and new projects on the go, I’m happy to say I have a middle to report – yes, the teatime bunny quilt top is finally all put together, hurray!!!! Now, I have to say I like sewing by hand – I do, really, – and if I weren’t so darn impatient to see the end results, I might make more quilts by hand rather than by machine. However – I’m very glad that the 256 pieces that make up these bunny blocks are all finally sewn in place and sashed together! I’ve been working on it since March so Charlotte (age 7, whose bed it is destined for) is also very pleased to see it get to this stage before she leaves home and starts a family of her own 🙂

 I’ve promised her that this week we will buy wadding and some fabric to go on the back!

The question now is – should the bunnies have eyes? Or will that be too weird? Charlotte thinks they should – I’m not so sure. What do you think?  

 

  1. A
    August 24, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Hi I just found your blog through Brit quilt and have signed up to follow in my goggle reader. I love your Delilah quilt.this was one of my favourite fabric lines and I have just made a quilt in it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

